Private Applied Lessons

Private lessons focus on instrument-specific pedagogy that cannot be addressed during group band class.  Private lessons are the primary method by which students prepare for all-state auditions, solo & ensemble competition, and most importantly, college scholarship/admission auditions. They are crucial to the success of the students individually and the ensemble as a whole, and are a component of top-quality band programs across California and the United States. 

 

As outlined in the band handbook, all Christopher High School band students are expected to study privately on their primary instrument, one hour per week, with an approved private instructor.  All GUSD Middle School Students are strongly encouraged to study privately for at least 30 minutes per week.  Students may work with a member of the Band Staff or, ideally, their own outside teacher. Outside teachers must be approved a band director.  We recommend choosing instruction from one of the instructors on our recommended list. This helps to ensure quality instruction.  

Recommended Private Instructors

The instructors below are qualified private lesson instructors that have been approved by the band directors.  These are professional musicians that hold a degree, multiple degrees, or substantial formal training/professional performance experience on their instrument. This is the level of professionalism and expertise that we expect and we are pleased to recommend these private instructors to our bands students.

FLUTE

 

Jennifer Candiotti

(818) 859-2643

jennifercandiottiflute@gmail.com

Marci Krauss

(831) 917-9684

marcikaruse67@gmail.com

Dr. Kris Palmer

(650) 868-3150

kris@krispalmer.com

www.krispalmer.com

Dr. Heidi Kay Begay*

(817) 301-8265

heidikaybegay@gmail.com

www.heidikaybegay.com

#flute360podcast

Briana Dunn*

(979) 373-8642

briana.dunn@ttu.edu

OBOE

Peter Lemberg

(408) 691-0114

plemberg59@gmail.com

BASSOON

Erin Irvine

(323) 422-1325

erin-irvine@hotmail.com

CLARINET

Katherine Benson

(360) 450-1141

amekobravo@gmail.com

Aaron Shemas

aaron.shemas@gilroyunified.org

Dr. Chester Rowell*

(832) 330-2109

Chester754@aol.com

Erica Horn

(619) 665-1209

ericahornphoto@aol.com

SAXOPHONE

Greg Chambers

(408) 710-3561

chambersg@mhusd.org

Stu Reynolds

(831) 899-7901

trading4s@att.net

Creighton Yip

(408) 483-9325

cdyip1@gmail.com

TRUMPET

Jeff Chambers

(831) 818-2142

principaltpt1@gmail.com

Dr. Russell Zimmer

(408) ) 309-7560

zimmerr@mhusd.org

Kevin Jordan

(831) 634-1695

coastbrass@gmail.com

HORN

Scott Hartman

(408) 781-0019

scottito@icloud.com

Wayne Van Lieu

(415) 218-6725

info@arts4all.org

Ruth Jordan

(831) 521-5402

coastbrass@gmail.com

TROMBONE

Suzanne Mudge

(831) 293-3525

trombonesue@yahoo.com

Carl Christiansen

831-484-5511

www.cjcpops.com

Thomas Hornig

(West Valley College)

thomas.hornig@wvm.edu

Dr. Sean Kennedy*

tubamaster01@gmail.com

TUBA & EUPHONIUM

 

Rod Mathews

rodmathews@yahoo.com

Jim Paoletti

(831) 915-0693

Thomas Hornig

(West Valley College)

thomas.hornig@wvm.com

Laura Eberhardt*

(505) 730-0470

leberhardt@cimarronschools.org

Dr. Sean Kennedy*

tubamaster01@gmail.com

PERCUSSION

Emma Bartlett

(917) 676-0367

info@emmabartlett.com

www.emmabartlett.com

Frank Wyant

(408) 202-2790

fwyant@mpusd.k12.ca.us

Mike Shannon

(831) 214-7102

mshannondrums@gmail.com

Christopher Eaton

(408)220-3503

mail@chriseaton.com

PIANO

Briana Dunn*

(979) 373-8642

briana.dunn@ttu.edu

Michael Kuo

(213) 400-8810

michaelkuo5799@gmail.com

DOUBLE BASS

Aleksey Klyushnik

(916) 223-6989

akpycb@sbcglobal.net

HARP

Stephanie Janowsky

(408) 366-8810

Contact Us

669-205-5300 ext. 242104

Address

850 Day Road, Gilroy, CA 95020